Sustainable development is a concept that seeks to balance economic growth, social equity, and environmental protection. It aims to meet the needs of the present generation without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs in a way that preserves the planet’s natural resources and biodiversity.

The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) are a collection of 17 global goals adopted by the United Nations. People, prosperity, planet, peace, and partnership are the five pillars based on which SDGs are aligned. The Sustainable Development Goals include:

(1) No poverty

(2) Zero hunger

(3) Good health and well-being

(4) Quality education

(5) Gender equality

(6) Clean water and sanitation

(7) Affordable and clean energy

(8) Decent work and economic growth

(9) Industry innovation and infrastructure

(10) Reduced inequalities

(11) Sustainable cities and communities

(12) Responsible consumption and production

(13) climate action

(14) Life below water

(15) Life on land

(16) Peace justice and strong institutions

(17) Partnerships for the goals.